• best bassinets for babies » BABY: IS THE SNOO BASSINET WORTH IT? THE REVIEW

    BABY: IS THE SNOO BASSINET WORTH IT? THE REVIEW

    Is the SNOO Bassinet Worth It Product Review - Snoo Bassinet review featured by popular San Francisco lifestyle blogger, Sylvie in The Sky In Partnership with Happiest Baby

    BABY: IS THE SNOO BASSINET WORTH IT? THE REVIEW

    I never understood the full value of sleep until I became a mother. I’ve always slept well, unlike my insomniac husband, and because I typically logged 8 hours of sleep a night, I could handle the occasional late night or all nighter if needed. But a perpetual state of late nights, intermittent sleep, or all nighters in that new normal that is motherhood, BST (before sleep training or before SNOO training)? Oh no.

    My first kiddo, Theo, was a dream babe in all ways except one – sleep. He would literally wake up every 2-3 hours on the nose, every night, for what seemed like eternity. I went from feeling focused and full of energy to hazy and depleted. We started sleep training around 6 months, and even with our expert guide, the “Happiest Baby on the Block“, T struggled initially with self soothing (aka calming himself down to sleep). Which made sense to me – up until sleep training, T had no experience self soothing, since he was rocked or nursed to sleep his whole infant life. Learning how to self soothe was singlehandedly his biggest hurdle to sleeping through the night and it took him a while to master it, leaving me in a perpetual state of sleep deprivation. Apparently I wasn’t alone – 50% of new parents report sleeping less than 6 hours a night, and studies show this causes the same mental impairment as driving drunk.

    As a mother who has done one tour of sleep training, I wasn’t looking forward to this second tour. Self soothing can be a major obstacle for babies, and how can we teach them this if we typically rock or nurse them to sleep until this point? Enter the smart SNOO bassinet by Dr. Harvey Karp, Yves Behar, and MIT engineers, the first and only smart sleeper that helps babies sleep (and go back to sleep) on their own by imitating the rhythmic sensations babies enjoy while in the womb. We decided to try the SNOO with Olive, and after 4 months of use, we want to share the reasons why the SNOO bassinet is worth it for new parents.

    Is the SNOO Bassinet Worth It Product Review - Snoo Bassinet review featured by popular San Francisco lifestyle blogger, Sylvie in The Sky

    5 REASONS WHY THE SNOO BASSINET IS WORTH IT

    SAFETY, FIRST: The SNOO bassinet is the “safest baby bed ever made” with a swaddle that securely attaches to the sleeper to prevent rolling over, ensuring Olive stays on her back. The swaddle is one of my favorites to use because it’s so easy, super soft, and keeps her snug and in place.

    BEST PRACTICE: Built by Dr. Harvey Karp, renowned pediatrician and creator of the 5 S’s and the renowned sleep training book, “Happiest Baby on the Block,” MIT engineers, and famous Swiss designer Yves Behar. The SNOO smart bassinet works by turning on the baby’s calming reflex, as described in his book. The combination of motion (swinging) and sound (white noise) is engineered to respond the way a parent would; increasing as the baby cries. The movement starts of very slow, at the lowest “Soothe” level, and moves to a much quicker pace when Olive continued to fuss until she fell asleep, and then the movements would slow down until it was back to the slowest level, and at that point we would turn off the SNOO. If she kept crying, the SNOO smart bassinet will eventually stop (there is a set time limit at the highest level), and we are instructed to remove her from the SNOO to tend to her needs – hunger, teething, etc.

    SELF SOOTHE BOOTCAMP: The SNOO smart bassinet helps infants develop healthier sleep habits by giving them earlier exposure to self soothing. Olive goes down into the SNOO sleepy but awake, which shows her how to soothe herself to sleep without the aid of nursing or rocking in my or my husband’s arms. THIS is the biggest benefit for me as we continue sleep training in Olive’s crib, as she is now able to go down for naps during the day, unassisted, in her own crib. It’s a miracle.

    Is the SNOO Bassinet Worth It Product Review - Snoo Bassinet review featured by popular San Francisco lifestyle blogger, Sylvie in The Sky

    THE NIGHT NANNY WE NEVER HAD: The SNOO smart bassinet fills the gap of all the help we needed so we can be at our best, physically and mentally, for Olive. We started by using the SNOO for daytime naps, and instead of us walking around, rocking her, shushing in a dark room with white noise, we could put her down in the SNOO and eat lunch together, prep dinner, fold laundry, or just lay down and rest together, too. At night, we can put Olive in the SNOO for bedtime while Theo, my husband, and I have dinner together.

    DESIGN GOALS: The SNOO smart bassinet isn’t just a brilliant invention for all new parents and babies, it’s also the most gorgeous bassinet I’ve ever seen. I’m a major fan of mid century modern inspired furniture, and world famous Swiss Industrial designer Yves Behar, and father of four, created a mid century modern inspired bassinet with a soft, breathable fabric and sleek details. It’s a bassinet that any design enthusiast would love to have in any room in their home.

    Is the SNOO Bassinet Worth It Product Review - Snoo Bassinet review featured by popular San Francisco lifestyle blogger, Sylvie in The Sky

    All in all, the SNOO smart bassinet can be worth the investment (retails at $1,160 on HappiestBaby.com, but keep your eye out for special seasonal promotions), but we know that every baby is different, and in the rare case that the SNOO bassinet isn’t the best option for your babe, the Happiest Baby team offers a 30 day free trial, which is a very awesome opportunity for new parents to test drive this ultimate bassinet before making the permanent purchase.

    Is the SNOO Bassinet Worth It Product Review - Snoo Bassinet review featured by popular San Francisco lifestyle blogger, Sylvie in The Sky

    I’m going to be so so sad to part with our SNOO bassinet (it typically fits babies up to 6 months), but have been recommending it to all my new mama friends to try. Olive has grown into a pretty great self soother because of the SNOO, and we’re a more rested and happier family as a whole.

    Like this SNOO bassinet post? Click here now for more baby features!

    Follow:

    56 Comments

    1. Joshua
      05/23/2018 / 6:36 pm

      Is this bassinet made of any plastics?

    2. Stephanie Z
      05/21/2018 / 4:54 pm

      It is so nice that the SNOO smart bassinet helps infants self sooth so they can develop better sleep habits!

    3. Joshua
      05/21/2018 / 4:53 pm

      Looks like the 👶 is in a straitjacket ….

    4. Joshua
      05/20/2018 / 3:31 pm

      Wondering about the fabrics that are used to construct it…

    5. Joshua
      05/19/2018 / 3:55 pm

      Is this made of 100% Cotton ?

    6. Joshua
      05/18/2018 / 1:41 am

      Does the 👶 get strapped in?

    7. Joshua
      05/16/2018 / 4:05 pm

      Safety is 🗝 when it comes to 👶

    8. Joshua
      05/15/2018 / 3:31 pm

      Do bassinet mattresses have sheets?

    9. Stephanie Z
      05/14/2018 / 11:22 am

      It is so nice that the Happiest Baby team offers a 30 day free trial just in case it doesn’t work out.

    10. Joshua
      05/14/2018 / 5:56 am

      I have never heard of 😴 training like ever what is it?

    11. Joshua
      05/13/2018 / 1:21 pm

      Does the bassinet come with its own mattress? 🤔

    12. 05/12/2018 / 10:58 pm

      Safty is a mother’s priority when it comes to their young ones. This bassinet looks like it will ease a parent’s mind. A great deal for any new baby. Great review.

    13. Blair villanueva
      05/12/2018 / 8:40 pm

      I think anything that a parent believes best for babies are good. I would give my future child a bassinet if needed 🙂

    14. Stephanie Z
      05/12/2018 / 5:15 pm

      It seems like a lot of great people built this bassinet, such as Dr. Harvey Karp. Well made!

    15. Joshua
      05/12/2018 / 10:32 am

      Wouldn’t a silver bassinet be really a cool idea … 👑

    16. 05/12/2018 / 12:03 am

      I think most parents would agree that any product the is safe and helps your baby sleep is a welcome one.

    17. Joshua
      05/11/2018 / 3:37 pm

      What about #Moses Baskets they are like bassinet’s ? 🤔

    18. Joshua
      05/10/2018 / 6:19 pm

      Is it made of natural materials?

    19. Jennifer Dugan Murphy
      05/10/2018 / 1:17 pm

      I am no longer shopping for baby gear, but your baby is precious. I can smell that baby smell from here!😍😎

    20. 05/10/2018 / 12:09 pm

      We had a similar bassinet with our daughter and loved it for the reasons you’ve mentioned. The SNOO sounds like a great purchase for new babies.

    21. Jeanna Massman
      05/10/2018 / 2:55 am

      I will pass on this review to my niece who is having a baby. Thanks for all the information.

    22. 05/09/2018 / 3:40 pm

      Safety is definitely something worth paying extra for, and this looks like an amazing piece. p.s. I need little Olive’s onesie in an adult size!

    23. Reesa Lewandowski
      05/09/2018 / 1:55 pm

      Baby gear has changed so much for the better since I had my kids! This sounds like a necessity for every new momma!

    24. 05/09/2018 / 12:19 pm

      This looks like a great bassinet and I like the 30 day free trial. Great to help babies sleep and parents, too!

    25. Joshua
      05/09/2018 / 11:29 am

      Does the bassinet come in other colors? 😻

    26. 05/09/2018 / 4:29 am

      It actually looks very comfortable for baby. Safety is top priority so I like that feature a lot!

    27. adriana
      05/08/2018 / 7:56 pm

      This is such a great review! I bet it’ll be super helpful for new and expectant moms! It sounds like a great must have for babies!

    28. 05/08/2018 / 7:31 pm

      I love how gentle and caring you are with your child. Although, I don’t have any children I found this a great read!

    29. 05/08/2018 / 5:42 pm

      I love that you’ve shared your thoughts on the SNOO bassinet. I have a friend who just had a baby and would benefit from this.

    30. kim
      05/08/2018 / 5:04 pm

      I’ve heard so many good things about this bassinet! My daughter is pregnant now and we will for sure be checking this out further.

    31. DANA GUTKOWSKI
      05/08/2018 / 5:03 pm

      OMG! This snooze basket is adorable! I’ll definitely be recommending this to my friend who’s having a baby very soon!

    32. 05/08/2018 / 2:26 pm

      I wish this bassinet was available 9, 6 years ago , my kids are light sleepers , first few months it is about 45 minutes, then 1 hours, still now they are light sleepers. Looks like great blessing for new born moms.

    33. Jennifer Dugan Murphy
      05/08/2018 / 1:59 pm

      Great review! And adorable photos! Thanks! Enjoy every moment!

    34. Jennifer Dugan Murphy
      05/08/2018 / 1:58 pm

      Great review! Thanks! Baby gear has come a long way!

    35. Jennifer Dugan Murphy
      05/08/2018 / 1:56 pm

      My twins were premies so they slept in their car seats per doctors orders! Very funny!

    36. 05/08/2018 / 1:42 pm

      OMG I did not even know what a bassinet was. Thanks for the review, it looks perfect for a baby! Not that I am having one any time soon but i’ll know what to get!

    37. Stephanie Z
      05/08/2018 / 1:05 pm

      I appreciate that you let us know that HappiestBaby.com has special seasonal promotions so we can look for them!

    38. 05/08/2018 / 11:33 am

      I have been eyeing the SNOO and am so happy to read a review! I definitely want to try this is we ever have another baby.

    39. Hannah Marie
      05/08/2018 / 10:08 am

      This bassinet sounds great and a big help for moms. My sister just gave birth and I’ll pass this to her.

    40. 05/08/2018 / 8:54 am

      The SNOO sounds like a baby sleep game changer! I’m so glad that it helped you and your little one! I am a nightmare without sleep so I can only imagine how much this has helped the two of you. 🙂

    41. Jessica Taylor
      05/08/2018 / 6:53 am

      Oh wow! Where was this 4 years ago when my daughter was a baby!?!? This thing looks amazing!

    42. 05/08/2018 / 2:37 am

      What a great bassinet. My sister could not get much sleep because of her kid. I wish I could have recommended this for her back then. The good thing is that I know about it for myself now.

    43. 05/07/2018 / 11:54 pm

      The bassinet looks so comfortable for kids. Thank you for reviewing it.

    44. 05/07/2018 / 10:25 pm

      I agree sleep deprivation is not good and if this bassinet is the answer for more hours of sleep I am in =) Your baby is gorgeous that onesie is so cute!

    45. Gladys Parker
      05/07/2018 / 8:57 pm

      SNOO sounds heaven sent. By mimicking his time in your womb he must feel as though that is an old habit and I imagine feel secure in it. I love the idea of how safe it is, my youngest was on a heart monitor because he had Apnea the condition that causes SIDS. This was 20 years ago though. If 6 hours of sleep or less is equal to driving drunk I spent a lot of my twenties dangerously.

    46. Minakshi Bajpai
      05/07/2018 / 7:42 pm

      thank you for the review. This bassinet looks pretty comfortable for the baby. Will get one for my baby too

    47. Andrea
      05/07/2018 / 6:29 pm

      this is such a cute bassinet for babies and the onesie is adorable. and your little one is too adorable and cute.

    48. Ally
      05/07/2018 / 12:10 pm

      I love that the swaddle is attached to it! I wish I heard about this bassinet before I gave birth to my son last year, we definitely would have used it!

    49. 05/07/2018 / 10:11 am

      This sounds so good to be able to have. If a parent can get some needed sleep than I am sold on it.

    50. 05/07/2018 / 7:48 am

      Wow that sounds incredible! They didn’t have anything like that around when my kids were little its amazing what new things they come up with in a few years.

    51. 05/07/2018 / 5:48 am

      This looks like a great bassinet for babies. I wish I had one when my kids were tiny.

    52. Barrie
      05/06/2018 / 5:50 pm

      What an amazing purchase for parents. After having a baby that did not sleep well (she is 20 and still doesn’t!) and despite the expensive cost, I would say it is worth EVERY penny. Wish it was around when my baby was a baby. 😉

    53. rana durham
      05/05/2018 / 1:17 pm

      this bassnet is so cute as well as your little.

    54. Sandy Klocinski
      05/03/2018 / 2:02 pm

      Thanks for sharing! What an awesome baby!

    55. Stephanie Z
      05/02/2018 / 1:00 pm

      Thank you for the review. This bassinet looks pretty comfortable for the baby with the soft swaddle.

    56. Starla
      05/01/2018 / 6:15 pm

      This looks and seems like a great bassinet. Your little one is so stinking cute! I’m not a mama yet, but I can only imagine my crazy future sleep deprived days 😉

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *